Kamal Youcef-Toumi

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Envisioning A Great City: Public Realm & Economic Impact


Public realm and economic impact are two critical concepts found in successful nations. Over time, cities in regions all around the world have experienced significant changes for various reasons. These include redesigning city layouts, replacing old buildings by new ones, creating investment opportunities, and using technologies for improved operation efficiency and management. However, urban environments that did not prosper failed to focus on the public realm and creating opportunities for economic impact.

In this presentation, we will first provide a historical perspective on cities and their development. The second point is a focus on factors for economic impact. This covers a review of progress in technologies and their implementation to help facilitate the operation and management of cities and nations. These include examples in the areas of transportation, water, energy, and health. Limitations of the current technologies will also be addressed. Finally, we will focus on the public realm and its important role in the success of cities and nations.





Kamal Youcef-Toumi is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering Department at MIT. He is Co-Director of the Center for Complex Engineering Systems at KACST and MIT, and Director of the Ibn Khaldun Fellowship program for Saudi Women. His M.S. and Sc.D. degrees are from MIT. Youcef-Toumi's research focuses on design, modeling, simulation, instrumentation, and control theory with applications to manufacturing, robotics, automation, and metrology. He made significant contributions to MIT international research and education collaborations, including Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and Singapore. Professor Youcef-Toumi is the recipient of the National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator award from President Ronald Reagan. He served on many professional committees and as a consultant for multinationals. He is an IEEE member and an ASME Fellow. He served as Editor of several symposia/conference proceedings. He is author of over 320 publications, and about 50 registered/pending patents. He was invited to lecture at over 200 seminars worldwide.

   Important dates

• Full Paper Submission 

 July 20, 2021

  July  05, 2021     

June 22, 2021


  • Notification of acceptance :          August  24, 2021

• Camera ready paper submission :

     September 10, 2021

. Registration 

September 11- 20, 2021



Conference date



Honorary Chair:

Mr. Farouk SIDHOUM                       (Algeria)

General Chair:

Dr. Mustapha  HATTI                        (Algeria)


Technical Co-Chairs:​

Pr. Kamal   YOUCEF-TOUMI         (MIT, USA)

Dr. Abdelouaheb DEHBI           (PSI, ZH, CH)

Pr. Mouloud    DENAI                               (UK)

Pr. Isam SHAHROUR                         (France)

Pr. Kodjo  AGBOSSOU                      (Canada)

Pr. Othmane  ABDELKHALEK           (Algeria)

Pr. Aziz MUHAMMAD                         (Japan)

Pr. Miguel Angel SANZ BOBI              (Spain)

Dr. Gilles BETIS                                  (France)

Pr. Fateh KRIM                                   (Algeria)

Pr. Farid GHANEM                             (Algeria)

Pr. Mustapha  TIOURSI                     (Algeria)

Dr. Aoued MEHARRAR                      (Algeria)

Dr. Youcef SOUFI                               (Algeria)

Pr. Boudghene  Stambouli Amin    (Algeria)

Pr. Saad MEKHILEF                        (Malaysia)

Pr. Mounir BOUHEDDA                     (Algeria)

Dr. Fouzi HADDAD                             (Algeria)

Dr. Breda ZELIA                               (Portugal)

Pr. Abdelkader  AISSAT                    (Algeria)

Pr. Vito CALDERARO                              (Italy)

Dr. Nachida KASBADJI MERZOUK   (Algeria)

Dr. Safa RAMIN                                       (Iran)

Pr. Adel MELLIT                                 (Algeria)

Pr. Kamel BOUSSAFI                        (Algeria)

Program Committee Chairs

Pr. Katia KOUZI                                  (Algeria)

Dr. Brahim BERBAOUI                       (Algeria)

Pr. Cherif CHIBANE                        (MIT, USA)

Pr. A/Ghani HARRAG                        (Algeria)

Pr. A/Ghani AISSAOUI                       (Algeria)

Dr. Zineb ROUABAH                          (Algeria)

Pr. Mohamed BOUHAMIDA               (Algeria)

Dr. Cherif BENOUDJAFER                 (Algeria)

Pr. Aissa BOUDJELLA                            (USA)

Dr, Zoubir BELGROUN                       (Algeria)

Dr. Youssef MOULOUDI                     (Algeria)

Pr. Hassan SUSAN                                 (Iraq)

Dr.​​ Tahar TAFTICHT                          (Canada)

Dr. Ahmed MOSA                                    (Iraq)

Pr. Rachid TALEB                              (Algeria)

Dr. Brahim MEBARKI                        (Algeria)

Pr. Ahmed ALLALI                            (Algeria)

Publications Co-Chairs

Pr. Djalel DIB                                      (Algeria)

Pr. Messaoud HAMMOUDA               (Algeria)

Pr. Bayindir RAMAZAN                      (Turkey)

Pr. Kamel Edine HEMSAS                (Algeria)

Dr. Slimane MERDACI                       (Algeria)

Pr. Nasar Aldian SHASHOA                 (Libya)

Pr. Khadidja RAHMOUN HENAOUI   (Algeria)

Pr. Benachaiba CHELLALI                (Algeria)

Dr. Mohamed MANKOUR                  (Algeria)

Finance Committee Chairs

Dr. Abdelouaheb DEHBI            (PSI, ZH, CH)

Dr. Zoubir BELGROUN                      (Algeria)

Dr. Kheireddine MERHOUM             (Algeria)

Mrs. Zakia BENRABIA                      (Algeria)